Long Island's Oldest Synagogue. Renewed and Reinvigorated.

Our Board

Cravings over BimaBoard of Trustees is currently comprised of 9 members, including President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. It has responsibility for general management of Temple's affairs, funds, records and property. 

It meets every or month during winter and monthly rest of year, and acts on all matters of policy.   Board meetings, except in rare instances, are open to congregation at large.

In addition, there is a category of "Associate Board Members" - mainly those very active as Committee chairpersons, who participate in all facets of Board, except voting. Temple Adas Israel By-Laws were formulated based on guidelines by Union of Reform Judaism.

President - Neal Fagin: 631-835-2902; [email protected]

Vice President - Alan Leavitt:  [email protected]

Secretary - Janet Grossman: [email protected]

Treasurer - Howard Chwatsky: [email protected]

Board  Members:  Barbara Freedman, Gail Gambino, Nicole Gruenstein, Richard Hemley, Rona Klopman, Howard Krotman, Roger Matloff, Julie Tatkon-Kent, and Marilyn Zaretsky

Associate Board Members: Margaret Bromberg, Mindy Cantor, Jerry Cohen, John Goldman, Leda Goldsmith,  Myra Peskowitz, Phyllis Silver, David Wesley